Candied Pecans

We know, we know, we’ve been a little quiet the past few weeks! But we’re here and boy have we got an addicting post for you today. I swear when we first made these I couldn’t stop eating them. And they are SO fast and easy! I guess you could really candy any nut and it would be just as good but I prefer the pecans, they remind me of when I go to New York City and get Hot Nuts from the street venders which are seriously like crack. Except in a way these are better; they’re healthier, cleaner and definitely cheaper! Oh yea….and they’re VEGAN!

Candied Pecans

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup pecan halves
  • 1 tablespoon Earth Balance
  • 1 tablespoon “brown sugar” (vegan sugar mixed with a dab of molasses)

Directions:

  1. Melt Earth Balance over medium-high heat, add pecans and toss to coat.
  2. Add sugar and stir until caramelized.
  3. Spread on wax paper to cool.

Here’s the recipe that we veganized: Quick Candied Pecans

5:5

Amy:

Love these. Could eat these all day long, don’t care if they’re only good in moderation. Pecans are my favourite nuts to dessertify, I love pecan pie, maybe we should do that Vegan! I love chopped pecans in and on my brownies instead of walnuts. I love them in yogurt and in ice cream. Just about everything in my life could be made better with some candied pecans! Remember those Chocolate Covered Strawberries? Those were phenomenal rolled in pecans. If you’ve had success candying any other nuts I’d love to know, maybe I’ll try almonds, I feel like those would be to-die-for as well.

5/5

Jess:

I can’t express how much I love these. To put it simply, we almost ran out before getting to the chocolate covered strawberries. Simple, delicious, vegan – just the way I like it.

6/5

Know any great vegan recipes or products you think we should try? Email us at veggietoinfo@gmail.com!

