Rawlicious

Rawlicious is a raw vegan restaurant helping you feel good about what you eat. We believe that food should not only be delicious, but nutritious as well, which is why all of our food is hand-made using the highest quality ingredients that are raw & organic. Everything we serve is gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free and completely void of animal products.” – Rawlicious

Rawlicious has 2 locations in Toronto, one on Bloor-West and one in Yorkville. Jess and I visited the Bloor-West location for this review. A raw food diet is hard. I’ll just say that. Jess and I tried it once and I don’t know how long she lasted, but I only lasted a day. There is so much to remember about food, sugar is not raw, cheese is not raw, so many things that you don’t think about. When I heard there was a restaurant that served only raw food, I’ll admit I was skeptical. I couldn’t last a day on a raw diet, how could a restaurant operate? But it works. And it’s definitely a ‘thing’ now. Anyone who successfully lives on a raw food diet in their daily life should be applauded, cause it’s tough.

Spring Rolls Cesaer Salad Jess Pad Thai Amy Wrap Cheesecake

The shining moment of Rawlicious is definitely the Cheesecake, oh my goodness it was heaven. Better than any other cheesecake I think either of us has ever had in our entire lives. It definitely made up for everything else.

2:5

Amy

Until recently I had never heard of Rawlicious, and never really considered raw food a huge market. Once I heard about the restaurant I was definitely interested and excited to try it out, I mean, how can everything on the menu be raw and uncooked? The restaurant itself is really well decorated and very clean and simple, much like it’s food I guess. We tried the spring rolls to start, which took quite a while to come, they were good, but nothing special, and the peanut sauce they came with was the same. We also shared a caesar salad, which was really good, and a pretty big portion, would be enough as a meal on its own. As for my entrée I had the Taco Wrap which had seasoned nut loaf, guacamole, lettuce, salsa & almond nut cheese wrapped in a collard leaf. The fact that it was wrapped in a leaf was really cool, and it tasted great, so fresh and clean. I would love to try everything else on the menu, it all sounds delicious, but the service leaves a lot to be desired, (such as serving off-duty employees before your full paying patrons, when we ordered the same thing, and first I might add.)

2/5

Jess

When you first walk into Rawlicious it’s a bit confusing. It starts as a very casual looking cafe and as you walk passed the counter towards the back, it starts to look very upscale. During the entire time we were there we had 4 servers. At one point we even got to watch one of our servers eat his lunch on the counter. Though the service was friendly, the cost point does not match up. In total Amy and I spent appr. $60 and left mildly disappointed. The caesar salad and the lemon cheesecake ($9 a slice?!) was fantastic! But the spring rolls and the pad thai tasted as though they had the same sauce, and realistically were nothing to write home about. As much as I love the idea of Rawlicious, the cost just wasn’t worth the food and service we received. I would however pay $9 for a slice of that AMAZING lemon cheesecake any day. If there is one reason to go to Rawlicious it is the cheesecake.

2.5/5

Know any great vegan recipes or products you think we should try? Email us at veggietoinfo@gmail.com!

