Jessica’s Smoothie

I came up with this recipe as a way to force myself to start having some kind of breakfast. After much trial and error I found this to fit my taste and provide a nutritious breakfast. This smoothie is also great for any of you taking B12 and Iron, the vitamin C aids in the bodies absorbtion of these supplements. Since I started having this every morning I’ve found that while everyone else is coming down with a cold I am staying cough free! I hope you enjoy this as much as I do, and don’t be afraid to tweek it to your liking! Remember, fresh is best but frozen is better than nothing!

Smoothie

Makes 2 Servings

Ingredients:

2-3 Leafs of Kale, stems removed (you can also use Spinach)
2 cups of Orange Juice (freshly squeezed if you can) – you can also use Pineapple Juice or Apple Juice if you want to mix it up
1 tsp each of Chia Seeds, Flax Seed, and Hemp Seed Hearts (if you don’t have these feel free to omit)
1 whole banana (as ripe or unripe as you’d like)
appr. 1 cup of frozen fruit, I use a mixed berry and a summer fruit blend but it is best to mix it up so you don’t get bored of it
-you can also use fresh fruit, but be sure to add a couple ice cubes otherwise you will end up with an only slightly cold smoothie

4.75

Amy

I’ve made smoothies before but none have ever knocked my socks off. They’ve all just kinda tasted the same, fruit with ice and yogurt or milk, nothing special. I can honestly say I am missing my socks because of this smoothie. As someone who has proudly had cereal everyday for breakfast since I had teeth, this recipe has now made me question whether I want to look at cereal ever again! Standout: the kale, it doesn’t seem like it would make a difference, but trust me, it does.

5/5

Jess

Love, love, love, love this smoothie but perhaps I’m slightly biased as the creator. I found this really got the ball rolling on getting food into me first thing in the morning. It is super quick and easy to make, and it’s an easy clean up as long as you give everything a rinse! I love to change up the fruit everyday so I don’t get bored of this ever.

5/5

George

Provides a good, nutritous and fast meal for breakfast. Easy to make, and fast to consume. It is especially good right before a run, or any physical activity. A very light meal. The only downside is that it’s not very filling. I find myself feeling hungry a short time afterwards. I’m very active, and always hungry…but it is a very good start to my day.

4/5

Know any great vegan recipes or products you think we should try? Email us at veggietoinfo@gmail.com!

