Follow Your Heart – Vegenaise

Our advice is our name. Passion is absolutely at the center of success. And you can’t be passionate about something you don’t care deeply about. I think that’s why Follow Your Heart has had the measure of success that it’s had. Our objective was never to be a megastore, but a gem. Gems don’t have to be big to be really beautiful.” – Bob Goldberg, Follow Your Heart.

Follow Your Heart started in California in 1970 as a small market and restaurant serving vegetarian sandwiches, soups and salads. Luckily the vegetarian community was a growing one at the time and Follow Your Heart saw a need to grow as well which meant a line of all natural products. Though their restaurant is the core of their business it’s their products that bring us here today. Follow Your Heart has a whole line of  products “entirely plant based and made without any animal derived ingredients” including vegan mayonnaise (vegenaise), salad dressing, cheese, sour cream and even cream cheese!

Vegenaise

Last year Jessica and I went to the Toronto Vegetarian Food Festival where Follow Your Heart had a booth. The festival is great because you can stop at the booths collect flyers and brochures on the products, ask questions and sometimes, the fun part: try the tasters. At the Follow Your Heart booth they were actually handing out sample bottles of Vegenaise! Boy am I glad they were, the bottle claims “Better than Mayo” and it sure doesn’t lie. Vegenaise can be used anywhere that regular mayonnaise can be used except it’s vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, non gmo, and tastes just as good if not better! But you better go get some to try and tell us for yourselves ;)

sandwich vegenaise

Where to find Vegenaise: Follow Your Heart Store Locator, Online Store, Loblaws, Essence of Life, The Big Carrot

4.75

Amy

I absolutely loved the Vegetarian Food Fair and this was one of my favourite samples that we picked up. It tastes just like real mayonnaise, and I actually prefer it to real mayonnaise. Even the Reduced Fat version has a great taste and was awesome on my veggie burger! So far I’ve been really impressed with all of the companies and products that we’ve reviewed and this one is no exception, they have a great product and I can only imagine the others are just as good, but I’m sure we’ll let you know about those ones soon! :)

5/5

Jess

As a general rule I hate condiments; ketchup, mayo, relish – pass. But as the fates would have it Follow Your Heart was handing out samples of vegenaise. In my experience with vegan alternative foods, the vegan version is almost always better. For example, you could not pay me to eat a hamburger when I was a meat eater and now I look for new veggie burgers to try. But I digress. I tried the vegenaise and it was no exception, it tastes better than mayo and you can now find my burgers and sandwiches dressed with a generous helping of vegenaise.

4.5/5

Know any great vegan recipes or products you think we should try? Email us at veggietoinfo@gmail.com!

