Dinner at Jessica’s

FullmealTonight Veggie T.O. was joined by George, who hails from a traditional Greek family and therefore is a meat eater extraordinaire. Dinner consisted of Gardein’s Mandarin Orange Crispy Chick’n(click here for review), whole wheat couscous, and sautéed asparagus followed by a raw key lime pie(click here for recipe)! Let’s discuss:

On the topic of the meal as a whole:

4.5

George

I’m biased in that I like asparagus no matter how it’s made. I’m not a big fan of plain couscous; Jess usually chops up green onion and adds a little bit of garlic salt and a smidgen of Earth Balance buttery spread.  There wasn’t enough crispy chick’n, it was so good I wanted more. All in all it’s not a heavy meal, something light to keep you satiated.

4.5/5

Amy

As someone who is fairly new to eating asparagus, I really enjoyed the way it was prepared. I love plain grains so the couscous was the perfect side to the meal, it didn’t overpower or take any of the attention away from the asparagus or crispy chick’n.

4.5/5

Jess

This is one of my quick and easy go to meals. I absolutely love anything sautéed in garlic butter and asparagus is one of my favourite vegetables to put in. I find that a little salt and pepper is enough to spice up the couscous without infringing on the more complex flavours of the crispy chick’n and asparagus.

 4.5/5

As for that raw key lime pie business…

 3

George

I like the crust but I wasn’t a fan of the key lime. It just didn’t do it for me. Maybe it would have been better if it was less of the key lime and more crust. I’d rather it be a 50:50 ratio of crust to filling.

2/5

Amy

I’ll admit that I was very skeptical of this recipe before we started it. I mean, avocado in a key lime pie? Really? But I was pleasantly surprised when Jess was, of course, right again that the lime and coconut oil made the avocado more sweet than savoury. I did prefer it with some chopped up strawberries, because it added another dimension.

4/5

Jess

Pain in the ass to make, but don’t let that deter you form trying this recipe. Found it very difficult to get it out of my metal muffin pan, so I would probably do that differently next time, maybe use silicone muffin mold. I loved all of the flavours, but found they were complimented better with chopped up strawberries, would also consider adding strawberries to the filling next time. I would only make this again around people who I’m comfortable making a mess in front of.

4/5

Know any great vegan recipes or products you think we should try? Email us at veggietoinfo@gmail.com!

